Writing and Editing Services
This form does not yet contain any fields.
    Publications
    Articles
    Taiwan Writer Recommends
    Reading
    Chris's bookshelf: currently-reading

    Shantaram

    More of Chris's books »
    Chris Jackson's currently-reading book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists
    Taiwanease

    Taiwanted

    Powered by Squarespace
    « Taiwan Angler Goes Live | Main | iPad as Education Tool: Is Appleā€™s Latest Wonder Too Cool for School? »
    Saturday
    Jul172010

    Just for Fun

    I Write Like is one of those useless-but-fun Web tools that pop up on the Internet from time to time. Simply cut and paste a sample of your writing into the text box, hit a button and out pops the name of the famous author your prose most resembles. I pasted in the lede paragraph of a news story I had written, which turns out to be a dead ringer from the rough and tumble writing of Jack London. I've already booked a ticket on the next clipper ship for the gold fields of the Klondike. Give it a whirl. Even established authors have been known to play around with it. Speculative fiction writer Neil Gaiman recently posted to his Twitter account that an exerpt from his novel Anansi Boys is in the vein of both JRR Tolkein and Steven King. Hmm.

    PrintView Printer Friendly Version

    EmailEmail Article to Friend

    Reader Comments

    There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

    PostPost a New Comment

    Enter your information below to add a new comment.

    My response is on my own website »
    Author Email (optional):
    Author URL (optional):
    Post:
     
    Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>